I Loved My Star Wars Glasses!

Something I just don’t see anymore is commemorative glasses. McDonalds, Burger King, hell, even Gas Stations would run deals where if you bought so much gas, you get a free glass! Oh, I know McDonalds, or is it Burger King, just had a deal where you can get a Coke Glass. BIG DEAL! I want my favorite movie of today to have a cheaply done picture from that movie plastered on the side of it. And more than that, I want it to be so cheap that after a few washes it starts to fade away! Dumb? You bet, but that’s what we had as a kid!

Before I get into this commercial, I want to thank X-Entertainment.com for this video. Awesome site and awesome commercial!

Growing up in the 80s, Star Wars was king! My friends and I played with the toys, we use wrapping paper tubes, color them red and green and blue and we were Jedi with our Lightsabers! We’d tie a bath towel around our neck and that was our cape. Cheesy? Hell yea, and damn fun too!

This commercial brings it all back. Unfortunately I did not have any of these glasses, but my best friend did, and when at his house and we asked for a drink, our refreshing beverage was served in one of these glasses. Some how, the drink was much better when drunk out of these glasses.

Yes, the commercial is extremely dated with the wardrobes worn, but that was the 70s. And the hat the lady at the counter is wearing? One main reason I never wanted to work Fast Food.

They had Luke Skywalker, Chewbacca and Han Solo, Darth Vader and C3PO with R2D2. I always got the C3PO glass or Chewbacca, never Luke are Darth. I felt so robbed. I knew that my glass of juice would taste better with Darth Vader or Luke on the side of the glass.

I’m sure you can do a quick search on ebay for these and they are probably worth a mint, but if I ever got my hands on these again, oh hell yea I’d sue them!

2 responses to “I Loved My Star Wars Glasses!

  1. I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

  2. Haha we bought Aiden the Shrek one from McDonald’s. It was recallled the next day for lead paint. Wondering how many of those old school glasses have lead paint?

Leave a Reply

