My Bologna as a first name, it’s O S C A R

One of my favorite parts of the day growing up was lunch. I love sandwiches. When I was younger, and mom made the sandwiches, I usually had either the king of all sandwiches, the PBJ, or a turkey sandwich. But every once and a while, my mom would buy Oscar Mayer Bologna and when I got that as a sandwich, it was definitely a nice treat.

This commercial is not just a nice treat, but a wonderful trip down memory lane. Growing up, I remember seeing this commercial, as well as other commercials featuring kids singing the Oscar Mayer song and eating a Bologna sandwich. This commercial taught me how to spell Bologna. It’s not an easy word, but the wonderful jingle they created makes it just roll off your tongue. Too bad I have to sing the whole thing, but I don’t consider that a drawback.

First, lets look at the theme song:

My bologna has a first name, its O S C A R. My bologna has a second name it s M A Y E R. Oh I love to eat it every day and if you ask me why I’ll say: cause Oscar Mayer has a way with B O L O G N A.

What a fun and catchy jingle. Upon watching this commercial, I had this song stuck in my head for two or three days! And that isn’t a bad thing because every time I sing it to myself, I have a smile on my face.

Second, the actor they got is adorable! Look at him, he is cuter than cute and still has that little boy voice that comes across as innocent and pure! Listen to him sing, can you help but smile?

Third, the announcer they use has a very reassuring voice. You don’t hear him much, but the little you do is pleasant and reassuring. Makes you feel ok to buy this for yourself or your family.

Now tell me, do you not want to go out and get some Oscar Mayer Bologna and make yourself a sandwich right now? I sure do! And thankfully tomorrow is shopping day at my house, and you don’t need 10 guesses as to what will end up in my shopping cart.

 

 

One response to “My Bologna as a first name, it’s O S C A R

  1. Concerning ended up surfing online over 3 hrs today, yet I never discovered any interesting write-up like yours. It might be pretty worth in my view. Some people feel, if all webmasters and bloggers produced great content such as you did, online will undoubtedly be significantly reasonably priced helpful than before.

Leave a Reply

