The Sesame Street Pinball Song!

My years before school and for my first few years were filled with Sesame Street. I’d either watch it in the morning or evening. I have so many memories of the show from growing up. From Mr. Hooper and his store, to Bert and Ernie teaching us how to share, to Big Bird looking at life as a young, but BIG Bird, everyday you got one hour of quality and educational television. But one of the segments on that show I looked forward to. It didn’t come on every day, so when it did come on, it was special! The Sesame Street Pinball Song!

Sung by The Pointer Sisters, this classic debuted in 1976. It is, as you just saw, a pinball going around to different numbers while dodging different obstacles. It’s kind of like a magical pinball adventure. The ball goes into castles, and over moats, around trees and over hills. There is nothing real special about it. The music is a quasi 70s disco-ish sound, and the animation is very 70s, but it’s the retro memories that make this great today.

When ever I go to YouTube and play this clip, or any other like it, I’m transported back to a kid, and I can remember the excitement that this clip use to bring me when it did air. Unfortunately, this didn’t air every episode, or maybe I didn’t catch every episode, or at least not in whole, but from what I remember, it was a real treat when this came on.

There were 11 segments for this, and oddly enough, there was never one made for #1. But here is a list, from Wikipedia, of the 11 segments:

  • #2: A Day at the Carnival (amusement park)
  • #3: Circus Capers
  • #4: FORE! (golf course)
  • #5: The Only Way To Travel (modes of transportation)
  • #6: Down on the Farm
  • #7: World Tour (famous world landmarks)
  • #8: Forest Follies
  • #9: Play Ball! (baseball)
  • #10: Medieval Times (fantasy middle ages)
  • #11: Wild Things (jungle)
  • #12: Sightseeing, USA

I hope you enjoy this trip down memory lane, at least for those of you who were born long enough ago to have see this on Sesame Street. Let me know what you think of the Sesame Street Pinball Segment; did you like it or not?

4 responses to “The Sesame Street Pinball Song!

  1. Oh boy oh boy oh boy… I watched it as a youg boy, then again with my little sister (9 years younger) and probably sometimes with my own daughter…

    Memory lane indeed 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hated-It.com » Blog Archive » Live Blogging Sirius Classic Vinyl

  3. nostalgiajunkie

    This thing stuck with me for several years. I was born in ’83, and was watching Sesame Street in the late 80s, and they were still using this. I’d love to see how kids today would react if they suddenly saw that on an episode of the Elmo Hour– uh, I mean, Sesame Street.

  4. I remember watching this when I was a kid. Definately brings back the memories.

Leave a Reply

