Mike Tyson Knocked Me Out!

When the Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) came out, I was enamored with it. It seemed like all my friends had one before me, so I was forever begging them to have me over to play. I remember kids in school carrying Nintendo carts with them to take to friends house, or to trade or share. All this while, I was obsessed with the NES. The case was very stylish. Nintendo executives even said that they designed it to look a part of your entertainment area. I loved the loading slot, though once I got mine I learned to hate it. The power and reset button were awesome. The controllers had a magic about them and felt right in my hand. So anytime I was at a friend’s house, I’d be more than happy to watch them play a game, or when a commercial came on, to me, they were instant classics.

So up comes the commercial for Nintendo’s Mike Tyson’s Punch Out. It starts off showing Mike sitting down and putting his game in the console. I love that shot. To this day, the original NES case puts me in awe. Then comes the game. I loved it and at the same time loathed it. It was a very fun and addicting game. Easy enough that you can make it pretty far in on the first time playing, but hard enough that getting to the later fighters was a note worthy achievement.

The commercial then goes on to show you some of the other fighters you’ll face. It’s amazing how many of the fighters in this game are easily remembered. Piston Honda, Glass Joe, Soda Popinski, Mr. Sandman, and Super Macho Man to name a few. And for some people, this commercial is the only glimpse of Mike Tyson in this game. Getting to him, with out the special password, is hard. If you though getting to him was hard, lasting 30 seconds was near impossible, let along beating him. Once punch in the first minute and thirty seconds would instantly put you down. And he was fast, super fast!

After much practice, I was able to beat him on a routine basis, but rarely by TKO. If it wasn’t for the 5000 point decision, I’d never win.

Any great memories you have of this commercial or this game? Let me know of them in the comments!

 

2 responses to “Mike Tyson Knocked Me Out!

  1. This is one of the greatest games for NES for sure ! Thanks for posting 🙂

  2. Alexander Dombroff

    Mike Tyson is such a jerk! Did you see him on Oprah last month, it was totally ridiculous

Leave a Reply

