Kellogg’s Marshmallow Rice Krispies

I remember as a kid, the constant fight between my sisters and myself and my parents over breakfast cereal. In one corner was my sisters and me. We fought for fun, taste, and toys! In the other corner were my parents. They wanted healthy and nutritious, and not to expensive. We wanted sugar and marshmallows, they wanted whole grains. It was a long and grueling battle, and compromise was a must. If we could find something sugary that also had some nutritional benefits, we’d take that to our parents and lay on how good it was for you. They always saw past this, but if the cereal was healthy enough, they’d let a little sugar or marshmallows in. And that brings us to today’s commercial; Marshmallow Rice Krispies.

I believe this cereal was first produced in the late 70s or early 80s. I’m not so sure on this, and from my research, there isn’t much out there on this cereal to begin with. I do know that this cereal was discontinued in the mid 1980s. That was sad, because, from what I remember, this was a great cereal. I loved Rice Krispies, and to put marshmallows in them, can you get any better? And when I say marshmallows, I’m not talking about those boring white ones in your hot chocolate mixes, no! I’m talking about brightly colored ones! And what better way of showing off the colors then by this wonderful commercial.

It starts off with a balloon guy at a park. It is rain and dreary. His balloons look pitiful and the kids ignore him. Balloon guy sinks further into depression. In comes Snap, Crackle and Pop to the rescue! Snap comes in with four boxes of Rice Krispies. The Original Flavor, Cocoa Krispies, Frosted Krispies and Marshmallow Krispies. Crackle and Pop quickly agree that this man needs a dose of the brightly colored Marshmallow Krispies. And the announcer completes it by stating so elegantly; “Hey, Marshmallows!”

The commercial ends on a sunny day with Balloon Man handing out brightly colored balloons to the kiddies. Now, did this man really need that bowl of Marshmallow Krispies? Hell no he didn’t! I believe he purposefully bought those dull balloons, because he knew that Snap, Crackle and Pop would come and give him free breakfast. I would!

Sadly, as I mentioned earlier, this cereal wouldn’t make it out of the 80s. It’s too bad, because, from what I remember, it was a very good cereal. But it sure was fun to watch this commercial and have all those wonderful memories of mornings watching cartoons and eating Marshmallow Krispies come rushing back. Anyone else remember this cereal? Let me know in the comments!

UPDATE 6/24/10 For you Facebook fanatics out there, I have added a Fan Page for this cereal.  Do a search for “Kellogg’s Marshmallow Rice Krispies” and like it.  Maybe if we get this page moving, Kellogg’s will bring ’em back!

37 responses to “Kellogg’s Marshmallow Rice Krispies

  1. I absolutely loved this cereal. I wish they still made it or I could find it somewhere. That would be so awesome!!

  2. oh my god i tell everyone about that cereal and no one remembers it. it had to have been one of my favorites. thanks for the memories i wish they still made it,

  3. I loved this cereal when I was young. I wish they would bring back this cereal.

  4. I was hoping to Google this cereal and find out it’s still being sold and some reclusive town somewhere in the US but I found out it was discontinued!!! Being 26, I remind my mom about it all the time saying that was by far the best cereal ever and she told me that she has been secretly searching for it knowing how much I loved it!!! KELLOGG’S NEEDS TO BRING IT BACK!? Even if it’s for a limited time!!

  5. I totally agree! It would be great if they brought them back, if only for a limited time. But with the countries health kick, I doubt they ever will 😦

  6. My favorite cereal when I was a kid. I loved the pink box!

  7. omg! I loved this cereal, I’d almost begun to think i’d imagined it!

  8. hello

  9. I want it back, too! I was never crazy about cereals with marshmallows (except for BooBerry) but this one was absolutely great!

  10. No one I know remembers it either! I loved it, they should bring it back

  11. omg i agree, NO one remembers this cereal. thank you all for making me not feel like I was going insane!! I could have SWORN there was another one which had small SQUARE brightly colored marshmallows… is that a different one or has my memory gone soft?

    • Chris, I don’t remember any that had Square Marshmallows, but if I ever find any, I’ll try to post something!

  12. I LOVED THIS CEREAL AS A CHILD. I HAVE LOOKED IN EVERY NEW GROCERY STORE THAT I GO TO. I WISH KELLOG’S WOULD BRING IT BACK! I’M SURE MY TWO CHILDREN WOULD LOVE IT. THERE ARE MANY MORE CEREALS ON THE MARKET TODAY THAT ARE SWEETER THAN THIS CEREAL WAS. WHO KNOWS, MAYBE KELLOG’S COULD MAKE A REDUCED SUGAR VERSION LIKE THEY HAVE ON SOME OF THEIR OTHER BRANDS. I THOUGHT I WAS GOING CRAZY, AND SO DID MY HUSBAND. HE HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS CEREAL. I FINALLY DECIDED TO GOOGLE IT AND FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENED. SO SAD TO SEE IT GO!:(

  13. I loved this cereal! People think I’m nuts too…I wish they’d bring it back!

  14. This was THE BEST cereal ever. I’ve never met anyone who’s heard of it. Everyone thinks I’m talking about the Rice Krispy Treat cereal, and I’m always like “noooooo, it had small pastel marshmallows in Rice Krispies, and was in a pink box…”

  15. Kellog’s has to bring this cereal back–it was my favorite–I’m sure they could do some kind of reduced sugar compaign! My husband and I have been searching for those tiny pastel marshmallows for years and we’d love to share this favorite past time with our four children! Once my husband even bought Lucky Charm’s to take the marshmallows out and put them in with the plain Rice Krispies–so sweet for trying!

    • My husband did the same for me. I loved this cereal. I ate them in the early 90’s and they were called Cosmic Rice Krispies. I would love it if they came back out..

  16. OMG, I have told my husband about this cereal and he thinks I’m crazy! I have looked everywhere hoping that maybe they might start making it again! Kids would go crazy… but so would I!!!

  17. This was by far mine and my sister’s favorite cereal. It’s sad to find out they’ve discontinued it. I too thought I was going crazy because no one I’ve told this cereal about remembers it either. Maybe we’ll get lucky and they’ll bring it back for awhile. I MISS IT SO MUCH!!!!

  18. I LOVED this cereal! Marshmallow Krispies was my favorite!!! I would buy it all the time if they still made it! Maybe if everyone on here notified Kellogg’s, they’d see that the cereal would sell and make it again. I miss my marshmallow krispies!

  19. Greatest cereal ever. I remember my grandmother stocking up on it because every time I would come over I could eat an entire box of the stuff! Have searched far and wide for it, such a shame it was discontinued.

  20. Me and my coworker were discussing this the other day….this cereal was so damn good…we remember it when it was in a green box…not sure how they could discontinue something so delicious. It was like Lucky Charms but with the cereal part actually tasting good…

  21. It was around in the 90’s because my son remembers it and he was born in 91. Wonder why it was discontinued? Best cereal ever.

  22. This was my favorite cereal as well. I would eat it three times a day sometimes. Wishing they would bring my favorite cereal back! Then my kids and I could fight over it.

  23. I LOVED this cereal!! This was the best cereal there was. I wish they would bring it back 😦

  24. I also remember this cereal as it too was my favorite. I was disappointed when it disappeared from the market!! I wish they would bring it back even if it was for a short period of time..I would like my children to experience the best cereal Kellogg ever made. Thanks for the memories it made me smile.

  25. I loved it!!! I still look for it in the cereal isle, jst hoping maybe it will be there. The closest I’ve found has been the halloween edition with marshmallows (but its chocoalte krispies) and the lightly frosted. Just not the same. Does anyone know why they were discontinued and how we migh bring them back?! 🙂

  26. I remember eating this cereal along with its fruity version “Fruity Marshmallow Rice Krispies” way back when they were around. I do have a solution to sort-of bring back the cereal. But, it requires buying two different cereals. Rice Krispies and Lucky Charms. Someone before mentioned taking the marshmallows out of Lucky Charms and putting them in Rice Krispies. That’s good, too. But, what I do is simply mix Rice Krispies with Lucky Charms. The combined taste is awesome. It tastes just like these Marshmallow Rice Krispies. You’ve got the original Rice Krispies taste. You’ve got the sweetened Lucky Charms taste. And, the marshmallows. You can’t go wrong with that. That’s just my solution. You can try whatever works for you. I haven’t quite figured out how to bring back the Fruity Marshmallow Rice Krispies yet, but I’m wondering if mixing Lucky Charms with, say, Fruity Pebbles might work. Haven’t tried that yet, so I don’t know for sure.

  27. Been thinking about his cereal this week, for some reason….why is it not made anymore….sad!!

  28. No one I asked had heard of it, and they all acted like I was crazy. I knew I couldn’t have been the only one who remembered. We should print t-shirts or something to get this cereal back.

    Now, who also remembers Smurf berry cereal?

  29. awww, i miss this cereal so much. i’m sure everyone could go on kellogg’s website and click the “contact” link and write some letters about how they should bring marshmallow rice krispies back!

  30. I totally agree with all of you. Lets mass write Kellogs! I’ll buy 20 boxes just incase they decide to discontinue it again

  31. Wanted to like the facebook page but couldn’t find it in a search…I loved this cereal and for some odd reason Ive been wide awake since 4am thinking about it. If you could let me know if something happened to the facebook page or something that would be great.

  32. Bring marshmellow crispies back!! That was the best cereal ever.. I tell my kids about it and they want to taste it but they don’t make it anymore:(

  33. I remember marshmallow Rice Krispies from when I was little and I loved them so much I would love for Kellogg’s to bring them back please anybody that is in the Kellogg’s company or knows anybody that is in the company tell them to please bring back marshmallow Rice Krispies

  34. I have basically called all my relatives in otha States to see if they still sold these cereal anywhere! Love these cereal! I have a lot if childhood memories with these bad boys😍

Leave a Reply

