Why I Love the Commercial Jingle

I dislike the commercials from today immensely. They are bland and totally forgettable. They try to shock you with something stupid, or something funny, but as soon as it’s over, you rarely remember them. Come on, tell me that last few commercials you’ve seen? Do you remember them? If you so, what do you remember the most? If you are anything like me, it would be a local commercial, and why is that? Because they still use jingles! What makes the Jingle so great? Well, let’s look at what a Jingle is.

According to Wikipedia, A jingle is a memorable slogan, set to an engaging melody, mainly broadcast on radio and sometimes on television commercials. The jingle started on radio, probably as a way to distinguish commercials from another. Many credit General Mills as the first company to use the Jingle for a commercial. When TV took over, many companies used their jingles there as well. From the advent of TV thought the 1980’s, some of the most popular commercials used jingles. Check out TV Party for a slew of wonderful commercial from the 50s, 60s and 70s. There are some wonderful jingles there.

I believe the 80s is where the commercial jingle hit its peak. Yes, I am biased because I grew up in the 80s and my saying that the commercial jingle reached its peak in the 80s is purely my own opinion. But look back at any of my articles so far from the 80s. Tell me you don’t watch the video clip of the commercial and are not humming it hours, even a day or two later. Some of the classic jingles from the 50s and 60s are just too long, and while the 70s shorted them, I believe the 80s perfected them.

Below are three of my favorite from the 80s. The first one I reviewed here.

The second one I reviewed just a few days ago and you can view it here.

This last one is my favorite 80s commercial and one I have not reviewed yet.  (I have now!  Check it out here .) I’m just waiting until the right time to unveil it.

So, got any of those jingles stuck in your head? I bet you do. Now, I’m sure there will be someone who grew up in the 90s and will say, “No Bill, you got that wrong. The 90s were the peak of the jingle.” Well, if you can back it up, great! But you will have to have a ton of proof if you want me to recant on my statement.

I’ll be back on Monday with another commercial review. If you don’t come and visit before Tuesday, I wish each and every reader a happy and safe New Years!

10 responses to “Why I Love the Commercial Jingle

  1. Pingback: My Bologna as a first name, it’s O S C A R « Retro Commercials

  2. Hello. I was just surfing the net when I came across your website. I was wondering if you are aware of how i can view the old 1980’s commerical from Alberto Vo5 where the jingle playing was “Try Some Magic”? I always loved that jingle/commercial, and I wanted to know how I can download that commercial? Thank you.

  3. Если не сложно… хочу сайт про яхты сделать. У тебя вроде сайт на вордпрессе – не мог бы подсказать где морских шаблонов взять? Плиз – скажи тут (я на рсс подписался) или кинь линку на мыло Hafodax(гав-гав)gbail.com
    Заранее спасибо – пост грохни если чо 🙂 Сорри что не в тему.

  4. Do you remember a Coke Commercial (not the one the hilltop teaching the world to sing) from the 1970s? I will try to recall the lyrics, as was 10 years old at the time…Here goes:

    Hey you wanna be the one to share all your happy moments through
    Combine it with the things in life
    I’ll share some Coke with you ’cause it’s the Real thing
    I’dlike to share my life with
    Real things
    All the simple things to last your life through and through
    That’s the world I wish for you
    It’s the Real Thing.. Coca Cola

    Do you know this? Thanks!

    • Angela:

      OMG what an amazing jingle it was…my favorite Coke commercial ever.

      The scen was people on a bike trip…cycling through lush hills in a pastoral setting that one would give anything to be in.

      Re: the lyrics. Dayum you are great. I think that is the second verse. As I recall (and somewhat sloppily) the first verse went something like this:

      May a little-bitty-bit of happiness come your way

      And a little bitty bit of sunshine every day

      I wish you no goodbyes, but a new friend every morning

      Clear blue skies — all the simple things in life that I’m wanting too

      That’s the world I wish for you it’s the real ting…like a bottle of Coke…what you’re hoping to find Coca-Cola…it’s the real thing.

      I was 16 at the time. Everyone loved the touchy feely mountaintop kum-ba-ya commercial. I thought it was tooooooo cloyingly sweet for words. THIS comemrcial had such a wonderul energy to it….it personified the early 70s, which were a spillover from the late 60s.

      Hope this finds you well; love to hear from you.
      dave

  5. angela & dave,

    per the little bit of sunshine coca cola commercial, one of the finest audio and video ever.
    best lyrics that i can come up with are as follows:

    may a little bitty bit of sunshine come your way, yeah.
    and a little bit of love and happiness everyday.
    i wish you no goodbyes, a new friend every morning,
    clear blue skies are the simple things in life that are good and true.
    that’s the world i wish for you, it’s the real thing.

    may you always have someone to share all your happy moments through.
    somebody who will sit and laugh and share some coke with you,
    ’cause they’re the real things.
    and i’d like to fill your life with,
    real things are the simple things in life that are good and true;
    that’s the world i wish for you, it’s the real thing
    (like a bottle of coke, what you’re hoping to find,
    coca cola, it’s the real thing, coke is, it’s the real thing, coca cola, it’s the real thing, coca is …..).

    hope this brought you a smile!
    (ps. … i have it on a promo 45rpm record, & listen to it frequently!)

    • Tom:

      OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! Bless you. Best commercial ever. Any chance you can record it and email/post it online?

      Am still trying to find teh commercial on youtube but can’t. Any thoughts?

      Thanks again SO MUCH.
      Dave

  6. Posted the song on YouTube for you. It’s under New Seekers, Little Bit Of Sunshine.

  7. Thanks, I’ve been looking for this for years. It takes me back to late night Knick games. Is there a way to se the commercial?

  8. Hi . I came across this blog because I was actually looking for either the old 45 promo record or an mp3 of the song.

    Tom was VERY close to the original lyrics but I made a few corrections below as I remember them.

    I also had the promo 45. My dad worked for Coke back then. I belive that “Little Bitty Bit of Sunshine ” was actually the B side to “I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing”

    We were a Coca-Cola family for three decades with me joining my dad in the business and then later my sisters’s husband also joined the Coke family!

    At one point my sister Maureen and I were used by Coca-Cola New York to represent Coke at trade shows in a wholesome “Donnie and Marie like” manor. It was a great time for my family filled with lots of fun.

    Here’s the lyrics as I remember them and thanks for rekindling some happy memories!

    May a little bitty bit of sunshine come your way (come your waaaay)
    and a little bit of love and happiness each and everyday.
    i wish you no goodbyes, but a new friend every morning,
    clear blue skies; all the simple things in life that I would like too.
    that’s the world I wish for you, it’s the real thing.

    May you always have someone to share all your happy moments through.
    somebody who will sit and laugh and share a coke with you,
    ’cause it’s the real things.
    that i’d like to fill your life with,
    real things, all the simple things in life that I would like too;
    that’s the world i wish for you, it’s the real thing
    (like a bottle of coke, what you’re hoping to find, coca cola, it’s the real thing, coke is, it’s the real thing, coca cola, it’s the real thing, coca is …..).

Leave a Reply

