Top 5 Christmas Cartoons Growing Up in the ‘80s

I have two kids, and a third on the way and the two I have are old enough now to watch and understand the Christmas cartoons that are airing this time of year. It is fun to watch it with them and see their excitement. It got me thinking, some of the shows we watched are new, and I am creating new memories with these. But there are some that we watched that I grew up with. Some I thought were great then, but now kind of lame. Some I thought were lame then, and today they did not change. And there are a few that have passed the test of time and are just as wonderful today and they were then. Below I have trailers, small clips, and one a full episode, for each of MY top five. I capitalize MY because they are MY top five. Many will agree with most, but I’m sure all of you could create your own Top 5 and they’d be all different.

So onto it, in no particular order.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas

This classic cartoon was first aired on CBS on December 18, 1966. Originally, it was came out to mixed reviews. I dare anyone out there today to give it a poor review. Then again, many of us have grown up watching this, and I don’t know any kid who watches it who hates it.

It’s the wonderful tale of a Grinch, who hates the Who’s, and hates that they are so happy and he wants to hurt them and decides to take their Christmas away. He is successful and when the Who’s show him that it isn’t about the decorations or presents, it’s about friends and family. He realizes he was wrong and he himself changes and brings everything back.

The wonderful “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch”, by Thurl Ravenscroft, is a song that we all know, and love.

Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer

Another classic, Rudolph was first aired in the US on NBC on December 6, 1964. This classic used stop motion animation technology to create it. The stop motion never really bothered me, but when I was little, I was always wondering why everything was so jerky. Not until years later did I understand what stop animation was.

Growing up, this was in my top two! It is based on the song by Johnny Marks, and in turn taken from the 1939 poem of the same title written by Marks’ brother-in-law, Robert L. May. When I was younger I couldn’t get past the stop animation, now I’m cool with that, but I can’t get past how the mouths and the sound is out of sink. Maybe updated DVD versions are better?

Next was the other in my top two, but first, enjoy a commercial for it!

A Charlie Brown Christmas

Growing up, I looked forward to Rudolph and Charlie Brown. It wasn’t Christmas without seeing these two specials on Christmas Eve. We use to tape it on the VCR and watch them over and over. Now adays, Charlie Brown Christmas is my FAVORITE Christmas Special. This debuted on CBS on December 9, 1965 and has been a Christmas time favorite since! It still has a wonderful message today that it did then.

Below is the famous speech Linus makes letting everyone know what the True Meaning of Christmas is!

Twas the Night Before Christmas

This is one of my guilty pleasures. Debuting on the CBS network in 1974, it has been played every year since. Growing up, I loved this. It seemed to be perfect! So perfect that in my younger days, I would have been tempted to put this above Rudolph! Now days when I watch it with my children, man, this thing is short! The story rushes buy and makes sense to only a child, but it still holds a place in my heart that I hope will stay forever.

Many know this cartoon at the one with the Mice and the Musical Clock. Yea, I guess that’s pretty much it, but the story behind it, short as it is, is a good one.

Check out the full episode here:

Santa Clause is Coming to Town

To wrap out my list, comes one that was the opposite of Twas the Night Before Christmas. Released on December 14, 1970, probably on CBS, I never paid attention to it when younger. I might have watched it, but it never make an impression on me. Years later, when I was Middle School/High School age, I saw it again, and I enjoyed it better and today, I’ll watch it with my kids and really enjoy it. Not sure why I need to mature to enjoy this, but I’m glad that whatever happened, that I grew to enjoy it.

The story takes off on the song by the same name and is a complete fictional account of the fictional Santa. But it makes a wonderful story and with kids, that’s all that really matters.

Well, I’m sure many will read this, shaking their heads and muttering different episodes. I though about adding Frosty the Snow Man, but it’s a winter special, not really a Christmas one. Well, let me know what you think, and add other shows that you always liked!

One response to “Top 5 Christmas Cartoons Growing Up in the ‘80s

  1. Pingback: Would you buy insurance from Charlie Brown? Hell yea I would! « Retro Commercials

Leave a Reply

