Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum

I’m posting a special Saturday entry to finish out my Wrigley’s Gum week with an article on Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum. I looked at almost a dozen Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum commercials from the 80s, but for the life of me I can’t remember a single one of them. I chose this one because it had the greatest 80’s feel to it.

What does this have? First off, the unmistakable sound of an 80’s jingle. It’s not a great one. The only think about it that is keeping it from totally sucking is the music. The words of the jingle suck big time. Sounds almost like the jingle writers collaborated like this:

Jingle Writer #1: We need the jingle written in like 5 minutes. What are we going to do?

Jingle Writer #2: Shit if I know. We got this catchy tune, but I can’t for the life of me think of any lyrics.

JW1: Well, how about we just use the words from there add in print?

JW2: Works for me!

Ok, the writers of the jingle probably worked on it for quite a while, which is sad. They could have fooled around and did what I just said above and came out with the same thing. Oh well.

But the commercial itself, you have different people, from different walks of life who use this gum to make their work better. Only an 80’s commercial could do that. I just hope they didn’t find that shoe shine kid a few years later shining shoes for gum. Ok, really stupid joke.

To wrap up the week in Gum, Wrigley has some great gums, but their commercials weren’t always the best at expressing how good they were. But then again, it was the 80’s and there are many things from that decade that didn’t make sense. Coke II ring a bell? Anyway, hope you enjoyed the gum week and check back next week when I look at some fast food commercials.

Leave a Reply

