He Likes it, Hey Mikey!

There are some commercials that come out and quickly fade away, never to be thought of again. While others come out, stay around a while, then ride off to the sun set. Once and a while, a commercial comes out that is memorable and spawn sequels to the delight of the tv watchers. And every blue moon or two, there comes a commercial that transcends time! When I say transcends time, I mean it works when it comes out, it works the next year, it works the next decade; the same exact commercial. I can think of a few like that, and probably the most famous, is the Life Cereal commercial with Mikey.

Starting in 1972 and running until 1984, this commercial was the longest running commercial every! But what is more amazing, is that, if you look at it, if has the feel of an early 70s commercial, but even in the early 80s, a full decade later, it still works. How can that be?

Well, for one, the two boys not willing to try something new. Yea, their hair is dated, but their clothing wasn’t so much. I can look back at pictures of me and friends from the early 80s and we wore clothing like that. And when dealing with young kids, clothing isn’t the biggest of things. But I have three kids, two old enough to eat solid food, and it’s hard to get them to try new foods. Growing up, I LOVED eating Life Cereal, and I do to this day. I tried to get my oldest to try, just one bite, and she refused. No to different from this commercial.

Second, remember back to Elementary School. We all know some kid who would eat anything. And when I say anything, I mean ANYTHING. You could give him an Anchovy paste sandwiches and he’d eat it. (True story, but maybe for a later date.) But here is the genius of this commercial, they don’t give it to a kid who would eat anything, no, exact opposite. Mikey is the pickiest eater ever, no way he’ll eat it, let along try it. Wait, he tried it, and he’s going back.

“He Likes it, hey Mikey!”

Delivered perfectly! The kid who won’t eat anything, eats the cereal, and kids rush out to eat it! Ok, maybe they didn’t rush out, but they had to got out and buy a bunch, cuz that commercial was out there forever it seams.

Just a side note, did you know they had Raisin Life? Must have flopped pretty bad cuz I don’t remember it ever. Cinnamon Life? Wouldn’t try it growing up, but today, I’d eat it ever breakfast if I could!

But back to the commercial, this commercial lasted, and it lasted because it was great! Kids could relate to the kids in the commercial, and parents loved it because it got their kids excited about a healthy cereal.

 

 

3 responses to “He Likes it, Hey Mikey!

  1. Yeah – being the youngest of 3 boys, I was the designated Mikey.

    EarlyXer.com

  2. Being someone named Mike I hated this add, hated it everyone caled me Mikey

  3. Mikey is my naybor in real life

Leave a Reply

