That Energizer Bunny just keeps going and going and going…

There are many icon’s in TV commercial history. Mr. Whipple for Charmin, Lucky the Leprechaun for Lucky Charms, Cap’n Crunch for Captain Crunch and many more. Very rarely do we get to see the birth of one. But I can still remember the humble beginnings of the Energizer Bunny.

Starting in 1989, the Energizer Bunny started as a bunny, playing the bass drum, that crash a party of snare drum playing bunnies, in reference to the Duracell Bunny. I never knew about the Duracell Bunny, or if I did, I totally forgot about them. I’m going to have to research them some day. But anyway, as all the bunnies playing snares slowly lost power, one remained, and then incomes the Energizer Bunny, throwing his nose up to the others by playing a base drum. Yea, that’s the way to crash a party.

But still, as a youngster, I loved this commercial. Well, maybe not this one, it’s ok, nothing special, but the following ones. After this commercial, that bunny just kept going, and going, and going, and it was kind of fun to watch where it was going to keep going next.

For those of you who see the Energizer Bunny Commercials now and wondered how it started, here you go. For those who knew, but forgot, enjoy the show!

This week, my future articles may be late. My wife is due with our third child anytime, so I might not get a chance to post on my normal days. Hopefully I’ll finish up this weeks articles in advance, that way I can just log in and post.

Leave a Reply

